Thursday marks last day of early voting for South Carolina Republican presidential primary

CHARLESTON, S.C. (WCBD)- Time is almost up for those planning to vote early in South Carolina’s Republican presidential primary.

The last day for registered voters to cast a ballot early is Thursday, Feb. 22.

Seven names — including candidates who have dropped out of the race but were certified — are listed on the ballot for president. They are:

  • Ryan L Binkley
  • Chris Christie (suspended)
  • Ron DeSantis ( suspended)
  • Nikki Haley
  • Vivek Ramaswamy (suspended)
  • David Stuckenberg
  • Donald J Trump

More than 128,000 voters have taken advantage of no-excuse early voting as of Tuesday, Feb. 20, according to data from the South Carolina Election Commission.

Only voters who did not participate in the Feb. 3 Democratic primary are eligible to vote in the first-in-the-South GOP primary. Individuals who will be 18 years old by the Nov. 5 general election can also vote.

Counties are required to have at least one polling place open for early voting. Most locations are open from 8:30 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Here are the early voting locations* in the Lowcountry, by county:

Berkeley County

  • County Voter Registration and Elections Office– 1003 US Highway 52 (Moncks Corner)
  • Hanahan Library– 1216 Old Murray Court (Hanahan)
  • St. Stephen Library – 113 Ravenell Drive (Saint Stephen)

Charleston County

  • Charleston County Board of Voter Registration and Elections Headquarters– 4340 Corporate Road (North Charleston)
  • Essex Village Church of Christ – 736 Savage Road (West Ashley)
  • Wando Library – 1400 Carolina Park Boulevard (Mount Pleasant)

Colleton County

  • Colleton County Voter Registration and Elections Office– 2471 Jefferies Highway (Walterboro)

Dorchester County

  • St. George Civic Center– 303 Ridge Street (Saint George)
  • Miles Road Baptist Church Building B– 816 Miles Jamison Road (Summerville)

Georgetown County

  • Georgetown County Voter Registration and Elections Office– 303 N. Hazard Street (Georgetown)
  • Andrews Recreation Center – 220 S. Cedar Avenue (Andrews)
  • Choppee Recreational Center – 8259 Choppee Road (Georgetown)
  • Waccamaw Recreational Center – 83 Duncan Avenue (Pawleys Island)

Orangeburg County

  • Orangeburg County Voter Registration & Election Office– 1475 Amelia Street (Orangeburg)
  • Orangeburg County Council Chambers – 1435 Amelia Street (Orangeburg)

Williamsburg County

  • Alex Chatman Auditorium – 147 W. Main Street (Kingstree)
  • JJ Mitcheom Community Center – 2233 Hemingway Highway (Hemingway)

You can find the complete list of early voting locations in every South Carolina county here.

A valid photo ID is required to vote in South Carolina elections, including the primaries. Acceptable forms of identification include a S.C. driver’s license, S.C. Department of Motor Vehicles ID card, S.C. voter registration card with photo, federal military ID, and U.S. Passport.

State law requires a person to register to vote at least 30 days before an election. Voters can check their registration status by visiting